Committee Notices

Training Arrangements during Track Development Work - Sunday 30th August 2020

At our last AGM details were given of the redevelopment of our track which was due to start in late spring. Whilst that did not happen we are pleased to announce that the contractor has advised us they will be starting work this week. September 1st has been given as the date to start however the track may be closed before that for works to begin.


We have been in discussion with a number of clubs to source an alternative location for training and the North Kildare Club have very kindly facilitated us with access to their grounds while our track is unavailable.


It has meant some minor adjustments to our schedule which will now be as follows:


Little Athletics Monday 6 – 6:45pm

Juveniles Monday and Thursday 7 – 8 pm

Adult Wednesday group: Wed 8:20 – 9:20 pm.

Adult Senior Group: Tuesday 7 – 8 pm.


Some additional times may be added as winter evenings advance.


A few things North Kildare have asked to highlight and rules to be adhered to when using their facilities:


As with our own track toilets are not available. Please ensure your children are toileted before they arrive.


Enter the club through the left (2nd from Kilcock) gate and exit on the right.


Drive through the club on the left and go left around the club house. All parking is to be on the long stretch to the right as you enter the club and along the hedging.


We have use of a very specific area of the club. All members are advised to stick to this area. Other training will be ongoing while we are there and under no circumstances is that to be interfered with.


The road outside the North Kildare Club is dangerous, particularly for cars leaving the club. Please be cautious when entering or leaving. The club will be also be busy at times with a lot of children present. Please exercise the utmost caution while driving though the club and stick to the flow plan marked out in the car park.


On behalf of St Cocas AC I want to acknowledge and thank the North Kildare Club for the use of their facilities while ours are unavailable and remind members these facilities are only for use at the designated training times.




Bernard Phelan

Club Secretary.

St Coca's 10 from 10 Cancelled due to COVID-19 - 15th June 2020

It is with great regret that St Cocas AC must announce that in addition to the cancellation of our 5k road race scheduled for this month we have also decided to cancel our 10 mile road race for this year. In conjunction with, St Cocas AC will offer a full refund or a deferral to 2021 for both races for those who have already entered. The link to do that will be emailed to those entered in due course. On behalf of St Cocas AC we wish you all well and hope you stay safe. Above all we very much look forward to meeting you again at our races in 2021.

Return of Adult Track Training Sessions - Tuesday 9th June 2020

We are delighted to announce the return of adult track training, in limited sized groups of 15, from tonight Tuesday 9th June, to be conducted in line with Government and Athletics Ireland protocols. There will be two sessions, one at 6pm and one at 7pm on Tuesdays.

Anyone who wishes to attend a session must contact coach Martin Baten directly beforehand to make arrangements and not just turn up at the track. Martin will keep a log of those attending for contact tracing purposes, social distancing measures will be enforced and the cabin/toilet facilities at the track will be closed.

For the moment, track training will only take place on Tuesday evenings. It is hoped that limited Fit4Life group training will resume from next week.

Return to limited activity from Monday 18th May 2020

14th May 2020
Dear Member,

I hope this message finds you well. Like so much of our lives today training of all forms has had to take a back seat to the challenges we are all facing.

However for Athletics some good and welcome news at last.

From next Monday May 18th, as part of the Government's programme, athletics clubs will be allowed resume limited training. Athletics Ireland in conjunction with Sports Ireland and the HSE have issued guidance to clubs on how and when to resume organised training.

We are hugely conscious of the positive effects of training and social interactions on all of us, and in as safe a manner as possible, we are doing all we can to resume training. St Cocas AC is committed to contributing positively to our community and with that in mind the club will from this coming Monday resume the following:

For children over the age of 13 yrs a limited programme of training will resume in accordance with the guidelines set out by AI.

For the moment there is no plans to resume training for younger children.

Our coaches will contact parents directly to invite those children to attend.

A timetable will be in place with sufficient coaches to ensure maximum numbers per group and appropriate physical distancing is in place.

The club is arranging signage and sanitary products for the track and the cabin will remain closed during training sessions.

Mr Michael Reidy has been appointed as the Heath and Safety Officer for juvenile training and he will conduct the required risk assessments for training resumption.

Each training session will include the recording of those attending along with contact details and the club will maintain those records for the period required should contact tracing arise. Such records will be destroyed once that period has passed and arrangements will be in place to protect people's data and to ensure it is used only for the purposes stated.

We have been in touch with our insurance company and our policy covers the resumption of training as set out here.

Our senior and fit for life groups have been continuing with limited programmes using David Walsh's excellent community challenge and Martin's virtual 5k plans and both will continue to put up programmes/challenges over the weeks ahead.

For the moment the club has no plans to resume organised training for either adult groups but we will continue to monitor and we look forward to shortly being able to resume organised and coached track activities for these groups.

Given that so many of the road races have been or will be cancelled, the club will also be looking at what we can organise for club members only to give you something to aim at and challenge yourself. Obviously we are going to have to be creative but there are ways to get things done and we have some absolutely fantastic people involved with this club who can and will make those things happen.

Finally if you have any questions and more importantly if you have any concerns please feel free to contact us. There is a contact email address on the club website or use the email address to contact me directly.

Yours in sport.

Bernard Phelan

St Cocas AC Club Secretary

Further official government advice on protecting yourself and others from the spread of the COVID-19 disease can be found here.